ST CROIX COUNTY – St. Croix Economic Development Corporation (SCEDC) held its Annual Meeting on Tuesday, May 14th. The 2024-2025 officers were elected, as well as welcoming four new board members and three new St. Croix County Appointees. 

Susan Lockwood, Vice President of Northwood Technical College, was elected President. She has served on the board since 2019 and replaces Krista Paulus who completed her term as President. Krista will continue to serve on the Executive Committee as the Past President. 

Tom Loonen, Attorney at Eckberg Lammers, was elected First Vice President. Tom practices civil municipal law and business law at the firm. 

Ann Searles is the CEO of the St. Croix Valley Food Bank and was elected Second Vice President. 

Marina Onken was re-elected Secretary-Treasurer. She retired as Dean of the College of Business and Economics at UW-River Falls in late 2021 and is now Professor Emeritus of Strategy and Innovation at CBE. She also started a consulting business specializing in leadership development, innovation, and strategy, called Innovative Clarity Group.


Scott Morrissette from First National Bank of River Falls was re-elected to the board. He will serve his final three-year term, ending in May 2027. 

The SCEDC also welcomed four new Directors. Sheri Marnell is the Director of the St. Croix Valley Innovation Center in River Falls; Megan Boldig is the Manager of Community Service at Xcel Energy servicing the St. Croix Valley; Matt Diethert is Market President at Bremer Bank in New Richmond; and Steve Massey is the President at Westfields Hospital & Clinic in New Richmond. 

There were also three new County Board Supervisors appointed to the SCEDC Board of Directors: Bob Feidler, Mike Barcalow and Ryan Sherley. 


Additionally, the Board said goodbye to three long-standing SCEDC Directors, including April Nelson of WBD (May 2018-May 2024), Rob Kreibich of the New Richmond Chamber of Commerce (October 2017-May 2024) and Tom Borowski of the Hudson Hospital (May 2018-May 2024). They also thanked the previous county appointees Carah Koch, Paul Berning, and Mark Carlson (May 2022-May 2024).

The Board of Directors also accepted the 2023 financial review from Jason Zahradka, CPA with Guinn, Vinopal & Zahradka, LLP.